The Joy of Christ’s Visit to the Americas (3 Nephi 19:25)

I honestly can’t imagine what it would have been like to be in the ancient Americas when Christ visited. I can imagine their lives right before Christ’s visit (when there was rampant corruption in the government and other problems), but the joy and peace that existed when Christ visited the Americas is incredible.

“And it came to pass that Jesus blessed them as they did pray unto him; and his countenance did smile upon them, and the light of his countenance did shine upon them, and behold they were as white as the countenance and also the garments of Jesus; and behold the whiteness thereof did exceed all the whiteness, yea, even there could be nothing upon earth so white as the whiteness thereof.” – 3 Nephi 19:25

The Savior blessed the people as they prayed to him.

His countenance smiled on them. (Can you imagine that?)

And His light shone upon them – to the point where they were purified and somewhat changed.

There isn’t really much for me to say. I guess I don’t know why I’m even sharing this. Other than this is a hope I have. This is the purpose to life. To progress, to have joy, and to one day be like Christ. I know that I can’t do it in and of myself.

The people didn’t shine through their own virtue. Their faith and prayers accessed Christ’s power in their own lives. And then through Christ, and through their willingness and faith, they were made pure.

It just sounds pretty amazing. It sounds absolutely joyful.

Leave a Reply

