Humility and Joy (Alma 22:15)

The Spirit lets us feel joy. I’m not going to take the time to prove this fact right here in this post. Feel free to read throughout the rest of my blog. Better yet, read the Book of Mormon.

For now, we’ll examine the quick example of King Lamoni’s father. He’s one of my very favorite people in the Book of Mormon.

King Lamoni’s father was humbled by Ammon when they ran into each other on the road. (Ammon and King Lamoni were on their way to Middoni. King Lamoni’s father was on his way to see King Lamoni.) King Lamoni’s father was upset with his son and with Ammon. He attempted to take Ammon’s life, but ended up being compromised by Ammon’s strength. In an attempt to be freed from Ammon’s grip, King Lamoni offered up half his kingdom.

Ammon wasn’t looking for power or land. He simply wanted to teach the gospel, and he had developed a true friendship and love for King Lamoni. So, he asked that King Lamoni’s land be protected and that he lived in peace.

King Lamoni’s father was shocked – he didn’t expect to hear such a charitable response. His heart began to be softened and humbled.

***

Later, Aaron travels up to King Lamoni’s father to share the gospel. King Lamoni’s father had been thinking a lot about this experience and was already becoming more prepared to be receptive to the gospel message. He listened to Aaron’s message – which was the gospel and basic scripture stories.

It seems like King Lamoni’s father was becoming aware that though he had so much, he didn’t have any joy. After listening to Aaron’s message, we read:

“And it came to pass that after Aaron had expounded these things unto him, the king said: What shall I do that I may have this eternal life of which thou hast spoken? Yea, what shall I do that I may be born of God, having this wicked spirit rooted out of my breast, and receive his Spirit, that I may be filled with joy, that I may not be cast off at the last day? Behold, said he, I will give up all that I possess, yea, I will forsake my kingdom, that I may receive this great joy.” – Alma 22:15

We can learn so much from King Lamoni’s father’s tender and humble example!

The Spirit of God enables us to feel joy. And if we aren’t feeling joy, then we have to do just as King Lamoni’s father did. We must ask ourselves what we can do to obtain the Spirit of God, and then be filled with joy.

This is really applicable on every level. As I read this verse, I thought of the things that troubled me, and realized that in one way or another I’m allowing them to trouble me. I can choose to ask God what I can do to receive the Spirit and be filled with joy.

Men and women are that they might have joy. We can have joy. When we choose to look within ourselves and root out the wicked spirit that blocks the Spirit of God, then we can be filled with joy.

Leave a Reply

