The Fruit of the Tree of Life (1 Nephi 8:10, 12)

“And it came to pass that I beheld a tree, whose fruit was desirable to make one happy.

And it came to pass that I did go forth and partake of the fruit thereof; and I beheld that it was most sweet, above all that I ever before tasted. Yea, and I beheld that the fruit thereof was white, to exceed all the whiteness that I had ever seen.

And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit.” – 1 Nephi 8:10-12

This is such a simple and quintessential scripture on joy in the Book of Mormon.

Lehi, the ancient prophet had a dream (you can read about it in 1 Nephi 8). In this dream he sees the tree of life – which is bearing fruit. Immediately he knows that this fruit is desirable.

The fruit is sweet. Sounds good.

And the fruit fills his soul with joy.

I think that it is easy to relate to Lehi. We are all seeking joy and happiness, right? Who doesn’t want to have joy in their lives?

Lehi is looking, then sees the tree of life. It takes some work, but he partakes, and he isn’t let down.

This dream is more than some silly night vision. It is a parable, a metaphor. As inhabitants of this earth, we yearn for a better world. We yearn for joy and happiness in our lives. And it is available to us. Heavenly Father has provided the fruit of eternal life for each of us and a way to partake of it. Through the Atonement of the Savior and through His words, we can also eat this fruit – sweeter and more desirable than any other fruit.

I mean, I just ate a pretty incredible mango. Imagine this fruit that God offers us. Yum.

Leave a Reply

